“Score the Real Thing,” a new public awareness campaign, is designed to inform consumers about the negative consequences of counterfeits of sporting goods. The producers’ association FESI uses educational videos and a dedicated website to fight piracy.

With the new campaign, FESI (the Federation of the European Sporting Goods Industry) primarily seeks to influence the consumer behaviour of online buyers and young shoppers. “It is crucial to make our youth aware of the detrimental consequences that buying fake sporting goods online may have,“ explained Alberto Bichi, Secretary General of FESI.

On the dedicated campaign website, consumers can inform themselves in a total of four languages – English, French, Italian, and Spanish – about the negative consequences of counterfeited sporting goods. FESI also offers sport-loving consumers interesting content on the subject on various social media, including Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and YouTube.

The campaign was developed in light of the European Football Championship, as large sporting events often cause an increase in counterfeit sporting goods such as team jerseys. The campaign also deals with other sport types: In addition to counterfeited football gear, the videos also cover the negative consequences of, for example, golf and light athletic articles.

YouTube

To protect your personal data, the connection to the video saved on Youtube has been blocked. By loading the video, you accept Youtube's privacy policy.

View the video now

The new online campaign is supported by the European Union Intellectual Property Office (EUIPO). Last year a study performed by the authority showed that sporting goods manufacturers in the EU suffer some 500 million euro in losses per year due to the illegal trade with counterfeits (cf. our German-language report).

Sources: FESI, EUIPO

Durch die neue Aufklärungskampagne „Score the Real Thing“ sollen Verbraucher jetzt für die negativen Folgen von Fälschungen in der Sportartikelbranche sensibilisiert werden. Mit anschaulichen Videos und einer eigenen Webseite will der Herstellerverband FESI so gegen Piraterie vorgehen.

Mit der neuen Anti-Fälschungskampagne möchte FESI (the Federation of the European Sporting Goods Industry) vor allem das Kaufverhalten der Verbraucher im Internet ändern und besonders junge Menschen zur Vorsicht aufrufen. „Es ist absolut entscheidend, der jungen Generation aufzuzeigen, welch schwerwiegende Folgen der Kauf von gefälschten Sportartikeln im Internet haben kann“, erklärt Alberto Bichi, Secretary General bei FESI.

So können sich Verbraucher auf insgesamt vier Sprachen (Englisch, Französisch, Italienisch und Spanisch) auf der eigens für die Kampagne gestalteten Webseite über die negativen Folgen von Sportartikel-Fälschungen informieren. Darüber hinaus bietet FESI sportbegeisterten Konsumenten auch auf verschiedenen sozialen Medien wie etwa Facebook, Instagram, Twitter und YouTube interessante Inhalte zum Thema.

Entwickelt wurde die Kampagne in Hinblick auf die Fußball-Europameisterschaft, da Sportevents dieser Größe häufig für einen Anstieg an gefälschtem Sportzubehör, wie zum Beispiel Mannschaftstrikots, sorgen. Die Kampagne bezieht sich jedoch bewusst auch auf andere Sportarten. So wird in anschaulichen Videos neben Fußball beispielsweise noch auf nachgemachtes Golf- sowie Leichtathletikzubehör eingegangen.

YouTube

Zum Schutz Ihrer persönlichen Daten ist die Verbindung zum Video, das auf YouTube gespeichert ist, gesperrt. Durch das Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.

Video jetzt abspielen

Unterstützt wird die neue Online-Kampagne vom Amt der Europäischen Union für Geistiges Eigentum (EUIPO). Erst im vergangenen Jahr zeigte eine Studie der Behörde, dass allein Sportartikelhersteller in der EU jährlich etwa 500 Millionen Euro Umsatzeinbußen auf Grund des illegalen Handels mit Fälschungen erleiden (wir berichteten).

Quellen: FESI, EUIPO