Researchers in South Korea have developed a new kind of hologram that can be produced more quickly and cost-efficiently than other holograms. The highlight: It is invisible, and can therefore be used as a hidden security feature.

The invisible hologram was developed by researchers at the Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology in South Korea. Its reportedly simple manufacturing process and usage make it an attractive innovation. The hologram’s so-called SAPCs (self-assembled photonic crystals) can be individually manufactured with commercially available inkjet printers, and their authenticity can be verified without special equipment.

Because the special holograms are invisible on a white background in the light of day, they could even be used as hidden security labels. Additionally, no special equipment is required to inspect them: A strong source of light (such as a smartphone flashlight) and a dark background are sufficient for verification.

A further advantage: The holograms can be printed in various colours, lending them not only unique forms, but also a unique colouration. When inspected, the otherwise invisible hologram will then show the chosen colours or colour gradients, which can serve to provide another layer of visual encryption.

YouTube

To protect your personal data, the connection to the video saved on Youtube has been blocked. By loading the video, you accept Youtube's privacy policy.

View the video now

Sources: Securing Industry, Nature Research

Forscher in Südkorea haben jetzt ein neuartiges Hologramm entwickelt, das schneller und kostengünstiger als viele andere Hologramme hergestellt werden kann. Der Clou: Es ist unsichtbar und kann daher als versteckte Sicherheitskennzeichnung fungieren.

Das unsichtbare Hologramm wurde von Wissenschaftler am Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology in Südkorea entwickelt und besteche durch seine einfache Herstellung und Handhabung. So könnten die sogenannte SAPCs (self-assembled photonic crystals) des Hologramms mit handelsüblichen Inkjet-Druckern individuell hergestellt und im Anschluss ohne besonderes Equipment überprüft werden.

Da die speziellen Hologramme vor weißem Hintergrund und bei Tageslicht unsichtbar seien, könnten sie sogar als versteckte Sicherheitskennzeichnung genutzt werden. Zudem bedürfe es keiner besonderen Geräte, um sie zu überprüfen: eine starke Lichtquelle (wie zum Beispiel eine Smartphone-Taschenlampe) und ein dunkler Hintergrund würden ausreichen für eine Authentifizierung.

Ein weiterer Vorteil: Die Hologramme könnten mit verschiedenen Farben versehen werden, um sie nicht nur in Bezug auf ihre Form sondern auch in der Farbgebung individuell zu gestalten. Bei der Überprüfung weise das sonst unsichtbare Hologramm dann die vorher festgelegten Farben oder Farbverläufe auf, die zur weiteren optischen Verschlüsselung dienen können.

YouTube

Zum Schutz Ihrer persönlichen Daten ist die Verbindung zum Video, das auf YouTube gespeichert ist, gesperrt. Durch das Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.

Video jetzt abspielen

Quellen: Securing Industry, Nature Research